Skip Navigation Links

Leadership

Research Leadership

Ten individuals on the department’s leadership team—which includes scientists, clinicians, and administrators—share responsibility for guiding the development of the research program at Kaiser Permanente Southern California. The team brings together diverse experience and expertise with the intent of fulfilling a shared vision: building a research program dedicated to transformative health research.

Senior Director of Research Steven Jacobsen, MD, PhD, heads the scientific team at the Department of Research & Evaluation and has overall responsibility for the direction of the research program at Kaiser Permanente Southern California. A chronic epidemiologist by training, Dr. Jacobsen’s primary research interests include men’s health and vaccine safety and effectiveness research. He has authored or co-authored more than 400 peer-reviewed manuscripts.


Leadership TeamLeadership Services
Employee Photo
Steven J. Jacobsen, MD, PhD
Senior Director of Research
Department of Research & Evaluation
626-564-3478
Steven.J.Jacobsen@kp.org
False
 
Employee Photo
Michael K. Gould, MD, MS
Director of Health Services Research & Implementation Science
Division of Health Services Research & Implementation Science
626-564-3926
Michael.K.Gould@kp.org
False
 
Employee Photo
Kristi Reynolds, PhD, MPH
Director of Epidemiologic Research
Division of Epidemiologic Research
626-564-5103
Kristi.Reynolds@kp.org
False
 
Employee Photo
William J. Towner, MD, FACP, FIDSA
Regional Physician Director for Clinical Trials
Division of Clinical Trials Research
626-564-5667
William.J.Towner@kp.org
False
 
Employee Photo
Anny Hui Xiang, PhD, MS
Director of Biostatistics Research
Division of Biostatistics Research
626-564-3966
Anny.H.Xiang@kp.org
False
 
Employee Photo
Deborah Rohm Young, PhD, MBA
Director of Behavioral Research
Division of Behavioral Research
626-564-3887
Deborah.R.Young@kp.org
False
 
Employee Photo
Barbara J. Farrell, MBA
Division Research Administrator
Division of Health Services Research & Implementation Science
626-564-3060
Barbara.J.Farrell@kp.org
False
 
Employee Photo
Hai Linh T. Kerrigan, PharmD
Division Research Administrator
Division of Clinical Trials Research
626-564-3586
Hai-Linh.T.Kerrigan@kp.org
False
 
Employee Photo
Allan Slatkin, BS
Division Research Administrator
Division of Epidemiologic Research
626-564-3427
Allan.Slatkin@kp.org
False
 
Employee Photo
Annie X. Chen, MBA
Director of Research Operations
Research Operations
626-564-3504
Annie.X.Chen@kp.org
False
 
Employee Photo
Wansu Chen, PhD
Director of Clinical Informatics & Research Database Services
Clinical Informatics and Research Databases
626-564-3475
Wansu.Chen@kp.org
False
 
Employee Photo
Cristine E. Denver, MS
Director of Research Communications
Research Communications
626-564-3224
Cristine.E.Denver@kp.org
False
 
Employee Photo
Sharon M. Figgins, MBA
Research Finance Admr
Research Business & Contract Operations
626-564-3135
Sharon.M.Figgins@kp.org
False
 
Employee Photo
Kelvin L. Kelley, BS
Manager of Sponsored Programs Administration
Research Business & Contract Operations
626-564-3448
Kelvin.L.Kelley@kp.org
False
 
Employee Photo
Kirt Patel, BS
Director of Research Information Technology
Research Information Technology
626-564-3503
Kirt.R.Patel@kp.org
False
 


If you are interested in more information about our services, feel free to contact:
  • Contact Name: Leadership Administrator
  • Phone Number: (626)564-3455
  • Mailing Address: 100 S. Los Robles Ave, Pasadena, 91101
  • Email Address: Research-Leadership@kp.org