Kaiser Permanente - Deparment of Research and Evaluation

Research Scientists

The department’s faculty includes more than two dozen full-time research scientists as well as a small group of post-doctoral fellows and associate investigators. Most faculty members have academic backgrounds in epidemiology, behavioral science, health services research, or biostatistics. Some also have clinical training.

Faculty members conduct innovative research that informs care delivery and improves public health. Areas of research include cancer, vaccine safety and effectiveness, obesity and diabetes, maternal-child health, health economics, and behavioral health. The department is building expertise in new areas, including health services research, implementation science, and pragmatic clinical trials.

Faculty members focus primarily on externally funded public domain research. The program emphasizes translational research studies that have the potential to improve clinical quality and health care affordability. This kind of research is an important element of Kaiser Permanente’s commitment to becoming a learning health care organization.


Scientist Team

Research Scientists

  • Steven J. Jacobsen, MD, PhD
    Senior Director of Research
    626-564-3478
    Steven.J.Jacobsen@kp.org
  • Michael K. Gould, MD, MS
    Director
    626-564-3926
    Michael.K.Gould@kp.org
  • William J. Towner, MD, FACP, FIDSA
    Regional Physician Director
    626-564-5667
    William.J.Towner@kp.org
  • Anny Hui Xiang, PhD, MS
    Director
    626-564-3966
    Anny.H.Xiang@kp.org
  • Deborah Rohm Young, PhD, MBA
    Director
    626-564-3887
    Deborah.R.Young@kp.org
  • Kristi Reynolds, PhD, MPH
    Director
    626-564-5103
    Kristi.Reynolds@kp.org
  • Annette L. Adams, PhD, MPH
    Research Scientist I
    626-564-3916
    Annette.L.Adams@kp.org
  • Chun Chao, PhD, MS
    Research Scientist II
    626-564-3797
    Chun.R.Chao@kp.org
  • Karen J. Coleman, PhD, MS
    Research Scientist II
    626-564-3580
    Karen.J.Coleman@kp.org
  • Kim N. Danforth, ScD, MPH
    Research Scientist I
    626-564-3415
    Kim.N.Danforth@kp.org
  • Stephen F. Derose, MD, MSHS
    Research Scientist I
    626-564-3462
    Stephen.F.Derose@kp.org
  • Darios Getahun, MD, PhD, MPH
    Research Scientist II
    626-564-5658
    Darios.T.Getahun@kp.org
  • David Glass, PhD
    Research Scientist III
    626-564-3997
    David.P.Glass@kp.org
  • Erin E. Hahn, PhD, MPH
    Research Scientist I
    626-564-3505
    Erin.E.Hahn@kp.org
  • Reina Haque, PhD, MPH
    Research Scientist II
    626-564-5707
    Reina.Haque@kp.org
  • Rulin C. Hechter, MD, PhD
    Research Scientist I
    626-564-3494
    Rulin.C.Hechter@kp.org
  • Aniket A. Kawatkar, PhD, MS
    Research Scientist I
    562-777-2670
    Aniket.A.Kawatkar@kp.org
  • Corinna Koebnick, PhD, MSc
    Research Scientist II
    626-564-3693
    Corinna.Koebnick@kp.org
  • Jean M. Lawrence, ScD, MPH, MSSA
    Research Scientist III
    626-564-3106
    Jean.M.Lawrence@kp.org
  • Brian S. Mittman, PhD
    Research Scientist III
    626-564-3450
    Brian.S.Mittman@kp.org
  • Claudia Nau, PhD
    Research Scientist I
    626-564-5760
    Claudia.L.Nau@kp.org
  • Huong Q. Nguyen, PhD, RN
    Research Scientist II
    626-564-3935
    Huong.Q2.Nguyen@kp.org
  • Lei Qian, PhD
    Research Scientist I
    626-564-3538
    Lei.X.Qian@kp.org
  • Adam L. Sharp, MD, MS
    Research Scientist I
    626-564-3965
    Adam.L.Sharp@kp.org
  • Ernest Shen, PhD
    Research Scientist I
    626-564-3431
    Ernest.Shen@kp.org
  • Jiaxiao Shi, PhD
    Research Scientist I
    626-564-3710
    Jiaxiao.M.Shi@kp.org
  • Margo A. Sidell, ScD, MSPH
    Research Scientist I
    626-564-5393
    Margo.A.Sidell@kp.org
  • Jeff Slezak, MS
    Research Scientist I
    626-564-3477
    Jeff.M.Slezak@kp.org
  • Sara Yee Tartof, PhD, MPH
    Research Scientist I
    626-564-3001
    Sara.Y.Tartof@kp.org
  • Hung Fu Tseng, PhD, MPH
    Research Scientist III
    626-564-3451
    Hung-Fu.X.Tseng@kp.org

Post Docs

  • Tracy A. Becerra-Culqui, PhD, MPH
    Post-Doctoral Research Fellow
    626-564-7532
    Tracy.A.Becerra@kp.org
  • Katia Bruxvoort, PhD, MPH
    Post-Doctoral Research Fellow
    626-564-3177
    Katia.Bruxvoort@kp.org
  • Gloria C. Chi, PhD, MPH
    EIS Officer
    626-564-5916
    Gloria.C.Chi@kp.org
  • Shayna L. Henry, PhD
    Proj Mgr II
    626-564-3410
    Shayna.L.Henry@kp.org
  • Stephanie R. Reading, PhD, MPH
    Post-Doctoral Research Fellow
    626-564-5579
    Stephanie.R.Reading@kp.org

Associate Investigators

  • Somjot S. Brar, MD, MPH
    Affiliated Investigator
    323-783-4915
    Somjot.S.Brar@kp.org
  • Sirichai Chayasirisobhon, MD
    Associate Investigator
    714-279-5400
    Siri.Chayasirisobhon@kp.org
  • Raymond H. Chen, MD, DPhil
    Clinician Investigator
    323-783-4595
    Raymond.H.Chen@kp.org
  • R. James Dudl, MD
    Associate Investigator
    858-581-8035
    Jim.R.Dudl@kp.org
  • Donald S. Fong, MD, MPH
    Affiliated Investigator

    Donald.S.Fong@kp.org
  • Annette M. Langer-Gould, MD, PhD, MS
    Affiliated Investigator
    626-564-3992
    Annette.M.Langer-Gould@kp.org
  • George F. Longstreth, MD
    Associate Investigator
    619-528-6550
    George.F.Longstreth@kp.org
  • Casey K. Ng, MD
    Clinician Investigator
    909-427-5939
    Casey.K.Ng@kp.org
  • David A. Sacks, MD
    Associate Investigator
    562-598-9066
    David.A.Sacks@kp.org
  • Navdeep Sangha, MD
    Clinician Investigator
    323-783-5752
    Navdeep.X.Sangha@kp.org
  • Michael Schatz, MD, MS
    Associate Investigator
    858-268-5484
    Michael.X.Schatz@kp.org
  • Adam Schickedanz, MD
    Affiliated Investigator
    626-564-3060
    Adam.X.Schickedanz@kp.org
  • John Sim, MD
    Clinician Investigator
    323-783-1428
    John.J.Sim@kp.org
  • Devansu Tewari, MD, MBA
    Clinician Investigator
    949-932-5692
    Devansu.X.Tewari@kp.org
  • Lauren P. Wallner, PhD, MPH
    Adjunct Investigator
    626-564-7663
    lwallner@med.umich.edu
  • Emily L. Whitcomb, MD, MAS
    Clinician Investigator
    619-977-6512
    Emily.L.Whitcomb@kp.org
  • Bechien U. Wu, MD, MPH
    Clinician Investigator
    323-783-1028
    Bechien.U.Wu@kp.org
  • Hui Xue, MD, MMSc
    Clinician Investigator
    858-694-7132
    Hui.Xue@kp.org
  • Robert S. Zeiger, MD, PhD
    Associate Investigator
    858-573-0299
    Robert.S.Zeiger@kp.org

Research Support Services

What research consultation services are available?

  • Discuss written hypotheses and research questions.
  • Discuss or plan study design.
  • Discuss or edit a written study protocol.
  • Suggest funding sources.
  • Discuss or plan study implementation and data collection.
  • Discuss or guide analysis of data.
  • Interpret data.
  • Discuss or edit written or oral presentation of research.

How do I seek research consultation?

Consultation services are available for research studies that fit the following criteria:
  • Potential health impact.
  • Potential for publication in peer-reviewed journal.
  • Expertise in the topic area and methods.
  • Research interest in the topic area.
  • Competitive funding award or potential.
  • Serves the public and is in line with the vision and mission of Kaiser Permanente.
  • Builds alliances and infrastructure for future research; develops new researchers.
  • Leverages unique Kaiser Permanente strengths.

What level of assistance can I expect?

Consultation assistance is based on availability and are offered in two levels – Curbside and Formal

Curbside consultation provides up to 2 hours of assistance. The consultant’s role is limited to advice.

Formal consultation consists of several hours to days of delimited work. One of the first steps is to agree on the scope of work and responsibilities of both parties. The provision of consultation services is necessarily limited by the availability, expertise, and research interests of consultants. In contrast with full collaborators (i.e., principle or co-investigators), consultants do not have ultimate responsibility for the research project.

How is authorship determined for publications?

Authorship on peer-reviewed publications is determined by published uniform requirements. Curbside consulting would rarely result in authorship. Formal consulting may fulfill authorship criteria, particularly if data interpretation and manuscript writing are both involved. Explicit discussion of authorship is encouraged early in the process.

What other assistance is available?

Advice on managing Institutional Review Board (IRB) applications is available; however, application materials are the responsibility of the principal investigator. Staff at the IRB provides assistance. For application assistance, contact Marcela Sanchez at (626) 405-6124 (tie line 8-335-6124) and for human subjects training, contact Andie Ho at (626) 405-5965 (tie line 8-335-5965).

Budget advice is available; however, budgets and management are the responsibilities of the principal investigator. Research Finance helps researchers create budgets and monitor accounts. For more information contact Research & Evaluation's Administrative Director of Research & Evaluation Finance, Sharon Figgins at (626)564-3135 (tie line 8-338-3135).

If you are interested in more information about our services, feel free to contact:
Scientist Administrator
(626) 564-3455
100 S. Los Robles Ave, Pasadena, 91101
Research-Scientist@kp.org